What determines a good CPU?

thisguy

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2011
Okay I have been researching CPU's for a few months now and I think I have a good idea how to identify which are good and which are bad.

Correct me if I'm wrong but you basically look for 6 things.

1. Ghz the more the better.
2. Cache the more the better.
3. Level of cache the higher the better.
4. Number of cores generally the more the better pending on purpose
5. FSB the higher the better.
6. The Generation the newer the better.

I found a Pentium D 3.4 Ghz(High) 4mb Cache(medium) L2(medium) #Core 2(medium) FSB 800mhz(medium) Generation Pentium (old).

People are telling me this processor is bad for gaming and I would be better off getting a new computer with a low Ghz Core 2 duo. I don't understand why

Intel Core 2 duoE6320
1.8ghz 4mb L2 Duo core 1066 FSB
Vs.
Pentium D
3.4Ghz 4mb L2 Duo core 800mhz
Looking at the two I would say the PD but others say the E6320 would whip the Pentium D in every category.

Does Generation really have that big of an effect that a new sub2ghz processor with same cache and cores out preforms a 3.4ghz processor? Temp and power supply are not a factor.

I read the system requirements for games and they only specify Number of Ghz they never state a number or cores or cache or generation. They also state a number of Mb of Video Card and GB of memory. And I find the only thing I ever lack is GHZ on the processor.

0. Benchmarks!
1. Architecture used
2. Clock speed and core count depending on application

That it. A 3.4 GHz Pentium D will get destroyed in all applications by a decently clocked C2D or i3. I wouldn't put it equal to a 1.8 GHz core 2 duo, probably closer to a 2.4 GHz C2D, but even the slowest i3 out there will beat it easily even though they have lower clock speed in many cases.