Question about PSU's & motherboards/grounding

Juicy555

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2011
If a motherboard is not grounded correctly, will some power supply's refuse to turn on?

I have a cheap 30$ cooler master 460w that has always worked, however none others will... I have tried a bunch of reliable brands that refuse to boot the computer when hooked up correctly, and when shorting the 2 pins in they all worked.

I gave up but a few weeks ago my computer shut off and didn't go past the BIOS screen, and I took it apart and it turned out my mountain pins were incorrectly placed. Some screws were missing & were different sizes.

Do more expensive power supply's have some sort of anti-boot because it could detect it or something? Could this possibly have been the reason?

nna2

Distinguished
mountain pins? never heard of them XD you mean mounting pins?
have you checked over the buttons on the faceplate (the connections to the mobo) it couldve been somthing like the power button was plugged into the wrong place
and if your case is metalic (and conductive) you MAY have shorted the board...usually the PSU has a grounding cord of sorts
have do you have a mouse keyboard and hardrive plugged in?

Juicy555

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2011

yeah, lol

Nothing I can check now, my computer is working, but it didnt with the more expensive power supplys... now all my mounting pins are correctly their but they used to be all screwed up like I said, im wondering if some power supply's will not turn on if it can tell if its not on their right...

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador

If you are asking if an extra standoff under the motherboard could have grounded out a solder trace on the back of the board, yes.

Juicy555

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2011

my current working one is a 460w cooler master, http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=3686

and these are the ones i have tried

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001EYV690/ref=oh_o04_s00_i00_details