Replace MOBO in Dell

G

Hi. I recently bent some pins in the CPU socket in the factory MOBO and now I have to replace it. I have a DELL XPS 8300 desktop (post recall). It has an i7-2600K processor, 8GBs of RAM, HD 5770 graphics and I upgraded the PSU to 775W. My questions regard after MOBO installation. I have never done this before so please be easy and as helpful as you can. Thanks! Once I install the new MOBO what else is next? Do I have to reinstall Windows? What about the BIOS and do I have to flash a new or different one from the one that was on the factory mobo? Also, do coin-cell batteries ship with new MOBOs or do I have to remove the one from the old MOBO and put it into the new MOBO?

I also know that the factory mobo was a micro atx board. LGA 1155 and Chipset H67. Will I have a problem fitting in the new mobo? I rather not have to get a new case and keep costs down.

Thanks everyone!

Andrew

Solution
Now I see what you meant in your last post. I will try to find a mobo with the SAME pin layout for the power button module as the factory mobo.

I don't have the experience nor the confidence to re-wire the connector so for now that isn't an option. I will report my findings on the new mobo back here. Wish me good luck.
The front panel connector pinout has not been universally standardized so each motherboard manufacturer may use a different pinout.

When you buy a new computer case the front panel connector is not composed of just one connector. Each LED and switch is on their own separate 2-wire connector which allows it to be connected to any motherboard front panel header no matter what its pinout is.
If you have a multiplier unlocked i7-2600K and not the locked i7-2600 processor why are you getting an H67 chipset motherboard? At least look for a Z77 chipset micro ATX motherboard.