Sign in with
Your question

Which needs more cpu the media server or the htpc

Last response: in CPUs
November 27, 2011 2:20:36 PM

Hello,
Newbie here as far as htpc's go. I plan on building a media server as well as an htpc. I already own a few pc's: Dell with intel Q6600 quad core, 1 Athlon 64 3 .0 Ghz and a Athlon Xp2.5. I plan to use the server to stream my 10 TB of video that I have on hard disks. I might run either Free Nas or unraid. I would like to use existing hardware as much as possible. Now so far. I have been streaming to the ps3 using ps3 medis server with mixed results. I can't stream dts master audio etc. I have many MKV and blue ray disk on my hard drives so, here are the questions;
Should I use the quad core as a server? It is powerfull enough to transcode if needed.
Would my netbook be strng enough to work as an htpc(Atom N475) or should I use one of the others?
I guess the answer I am looking for is, which needs more cpu power, the server or the htpc?
Thanks
Don

More about : cpu media server htpc

a b à CPUs
November 27, 2011 2:39:12 PM

HTPC just requires a recent graphics card.
m
l
a c 473 à CPUs
November 27, 2011 6:01:01 PM

The server will need the Q6600 because decoding Blu-Ray video will need at least a dual core CPU. MKV files also requires a bit of processing power too since they typically use the x.264 codec.
m
l
Related resources
a c 126 à CPUs
November 27, 2011 6:04:42 PM

jaguarskx said:
The server will need the Q6600 because decoding Blu-Ray video will need at least a dual core CPU. MKV files also requires a bit of processing power too since they typically use the x.264 codec.

Pretty much this. A HTPC only needs a decent GPU for decoding while a server needs a decent CPU to handle the heavy tasks as well as streaming.
m
l
a b à CPUs
November 27, 2011 6:47:49 PM