Sign in with
Your question

Is 1.65V memory bad on Z77?

Last response: in Memory
September 1, 2012 11:57:04 PM

Someone told me that...

Voltage greater than 1.55-1.6 volts are dangerous for Intel CPU's and runs the risk of frying the controller.

I have had a X55 system for over 2years with patriot ram running at 1.64V, never had a problem with the ram, mobo or CPU.

Has things changed with the Z77 board and Ivy Bridge chip (overclocked)? Where 1.5V is desired.

More about : 65v memory bad z77

a b } Memory
a b à CPUs
September 2, 2012 12:03:04 AM

1.5 is preference. I think you can technically run 1.65 but itll deteriorate your memory controller or something that I've heard. i have no first hand experience on it though
a c 129 } Memory
a c 169 à CPUs
September 2, 2012 12:05:34 AM

The Sandybridge and Ivybridge processors are standardized around the 1.5 volt JEDEC standard. 1.65 volt memory is outside of Intel's specifications for the Sandybridge and Ivybridge processors but still well under the absolute maximum which is 1.8 volts.

There were reports on early 6 series motherboards that high voltage memory was frying the CPU but I believe it turned out to be faulty electrical design on some sockets from Foxconn.

There has been at least one report from an Intel engineer saying that 1.65 volt memory will work without issue, and at least one report from an Intel service representative that using 1.65 volt memory will not void the warranty.
Related resources
a b } Memory
a b à CPUs
September 2, 2012 12:07:18 AM

do you mean x58?

1.5v memory requirement hasn’t changed since Nehalem.

Some people might get away with it but it’s not recommended. 2yrs is still early days considering how often the computer is on and stressed.

The Northbridge on the motherboard and the memory controller on the cpu will be affected if something shorts out due to overvaulting.
a c 129 } Memory
a c 169 à CPUs
September 2, 2012 1:17:55 AM

boju said:
do you mean x58?