Virgin Moible Broadband2go issue

Pre-installedUser

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2010
Please overlook my putting this here if it isn't the correct forum or sub-category.

First let me say that I build and repair workstations, servers, and networks among the many things I do to provide food and shelter in support of my life. I'm not a newbie in terms of tech related issues and know my way around computers and networks.

I purchased a Virgin Mobile Broadband2go USB device yesterday and a $40 pre-paid card that would allow me unlimited internet access for 30 days.

I am running a PC with Windows 7 home premium with all of the latest patches and updates from M$ installed.

I have also successfully installed the software that is contained on the USB device. The device is recognized and there are no hardware or software issues to this point.

The problem I have is when I click the connect button I get the following error message:

"The system could not update the phone book file."

I have exhausted all online resources that address this issue and am at a loss as to what is causing this issue or how to correct it. I understand that it relates to the file rasphone.pbk which is located in my documents and settings files --> User name --> Application Data --> Microsoft --> Network --> Connections --> PBK --> rasphone.pbk

Has anyone else successfully installed and is using the Virgin Mobile Broadband2go device or a Sprint Broadband2go device on a Windows 7 machine? Virgin Mobile uses Sprint's network so I assume that the VM device is identical in terms of its design and software in regard to the Sprint device if that helps.