New to networking - setup home media server

lmartinefc

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2010
Hi all, looking for some expert advice here guys (i'm a programmer / data guy...no real network knowledge)

I have a Speedtouch ADSL modem/wifi box. Everything in the house connects to this at present by wifi

I have just built a cheap home theatre PC with all my media on (Core 2 Duo E6750 + 2gb RAM + 500gb Hard drive). I would like everybody using the wifi network to be able to access the media stored on this machine...

How do I go about doing this?

Connect the machine to the speedtouch by wifi and setup some mapped drive? Connect it using ethernet to the speedtouch? Use the new PC as the home wifi network so everything connects to that and shares it's internet connection?

Really new to this so any help would be great. At work you type in an IP address and boom, a virtual/mapped drive pops up for anyone connected to the wifi

Also going to installing a wifi IP camera that i want to be able to access from anywhere over the internet so how should I connect this - ethernet to PC or wifi to speedtouch etc? Need to keep an eye on my new bike!

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/storage-options-f980a-ip-night-day-and-pan-tilt-camera-inc-11g-wireless-and-ethernet-port-too

TVersity is good http://tversity.com/

Also Windows Media Center will work, but it's best if all of the computers are the same Windows version for that. You set up one computer as the Server, and then can configure media Center on the other PCs as clients. It will create a shared database on the main PC and the others will connect to it automatically.

You want to connect the computers to the modem/router, using a PC to share network connections is not the ideal solution if you don't need to use it.

lmartinefc

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2010
Hmmm ok

What if I just wanted access to the hard drive of the new PC (not necessarily media) for file storage