Sign in with
Your question

Need opinions on AMD build and upgrade path (First build)

Last response: in Systems
August 29, 2011 6:00:04 AM

I am planning an AMD build with hopes of upgrading particular parts such as the CPU and video card later on down the line. This is my first build, so any and all information and opinions are welcome. My current build looks like this.

CPU
AMD Athlon II X3 455 3.3GHz Triple-Core 95W AM3 $80

MotherBoard
GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-S2P AM3+ 760G M-ATX $60

Ram
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1333MHz $45

Storage
Samsung F3 1TB SATA II 3.0Gb/s $53

Optical Drive
ASUS SATA 24XDVD Burner $21

Power Supply
SilverStone Strider 500W, 80 PLUS, Active PFC Power Supply ST50F-ES (Black) $60

Case
Antec Three Hundred Illusion 3x120mm $70

I am looking to get the computer running as cheaply and as soon as possible, and would like to attempt at using any replaced parts I can in a second computer.

Now the motherboard comes with an integrated video card so I can hold off and buy the final video card a little bit down the road. The one I currently have listed is

Video Card
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 $175

I would not mind spending more then this for a card, since I don't need one right off the bat. this simply is the one I have picked for now. Also this motherboard will be able to support bulldozer when it comes out when I can afford it of course. I would not mind hearing of any other starting motherboard, cpu, video card combos that anyone can recommend.

Please let me know if I am missing anything or way off base, also thanks in advance.
a b U Graphics card
a b À AMD
August 29, 2011 6:44:46 AM

That has to be about the cheapest way to get a running system with upgrade potential .

If it is just for gaming you only need a 2 x2 gig kit of RAM so that can save you some money

You havent mentioned Windows 7 64 bit oem . Thats a cost too .
But if you cant afford it now then you could run using Ubuntu Linux .