i7 930.GTX 560 SLI cause a Bottleneck?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fvnzion101

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2011
Hey all

I recently did a SLI setup on my PC with two Gigabyte 560 ti oc cards.

I have a Gigabyte x58a-ud3r motherboard with an i7 930 at stock levels.

I have 6gb 1600Mhz DDR3 RAM in tri channel.

So question is would or could the 560SLI setup cause a bottleneck and if so how likely will it happen?

Any suggestions and advice would be appreciated

Solution
My set up is very similar to yours and I have some reasonably detailed experience of the factors influencing performance. Mine is i7 920, 6GB, two MSI 560 ti.

I'm assuming you run games at max settings at 1920x1080.

The answer is that it depends almost entirely on whether you overclock your CPU. Running at stock (similar for 920 and 930), the CPU tends to bottleneck the system, except in very complex scenes.

Some people aren't too sure about overclocking, but we have one of the most overclockable chips in history. I run mine at 4GHz and it's set-and-forget. I've not needed to dive into the Bios for ages.

Running at 4GHz, games are mostly GPU bound with the 560Ti SLI setup.

So yes, your graphics set up will still bottleneck your...

bwrlane

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2010
My set up is very similar to yours and I have some reasonably detailed experience of the factors influencing performance. Mine is i7 920, 6GB, two MSI 560 ti.

I'm assuming you run games at max settings at 1920x1080.

The answer is that it depends almost entirely on whether you overclock your CPU. Running at stock (similar for 920 and 930), the CPU tends to bottleneck the system, except in very complex scenes.

Some people aren't too sure about overclocking, but we have one of the most overclockable chips in history. I run mine at 4GHz and it's set-and-forget. I've not needed to dive into the Bios for ages.

Running at 4GHz, games are mostly GPU bound with the 560Ti SLI setup.