USB detection issue

jammy247

Honorable
Sep 6, 2012
Hi Guys,

Ive searched the site, and cannot find a thread with the exact problem im having. Im not a techie, but can just about get by, so please be gentle.

Im guessing my MB may be about fried?

I have just formatted, and re-installed my HD after the blue screen of death.
Now when i kick my PC up, my mouse, keyboard, usb devices are dead.
If i however, say, unplug the mouse and connect it back in, windows detects it and it runs fine.
Also if i then restart windows, all the usbs are detected and everything runs fine.
But from a cold start, all the ports do not work.

Ive checked in my bios, and all the usbs are enabled. Legacy is enabled.

Specs...
Amd athlon 64 x 2dual
Scocket am2
core processor 5000+
2.60ghz
4gb ram
2tb hd
Windows xp sp3

Any help would be gratefully appreciated

cheers

david

jammy247

Honorable
Sep 6, 2012
Hey pal,

Thanks for the reply.

Its not anything that obvious im afraid. Ive tested the mouse/keyboard etc on a separate PC.

Plus, the point that makes this issue slightly different to the other USB threads ive seen on here is the fact i can disconnect the said hardware, connect it again, and its detected, and work fine?!

jammy247

Honorable
Sep 6, 2012
No mate, they are plug and play and worked without any problems before.

I can plug them into any other PC and they work fine.

Update:
I am thinking i do have a large problem. It has just crashed when in safe mode, I error reported:-

Stop (blue screen) error caused by a device or driver

You received this message because a hardware device, its driver, or related software has caused a stop error, also called a blue screen error. This type of error means the computer has shut down abruptly to protect itself from potential data corruption or loss. In this case, we were unable to detect the specific device or driver that caused the problem.