Closed

Can this PSU power an HD 6950?

Tags:
  • Power Supplies
  • HD
  • Components
Last response: in Components
November 30, 2011 6:25:14 PM

Let me start by saying that I am relatively new to building computers and I built my first one about 7 months ago.

I have this PSU in the link below and I am wondering if it will be okay to use with an HD 6950 video card if I decide to upgrade.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I've done a little searching around and have found that Rosewill PSU's are apparently not very good (I wish I would have known that before). I haven't had any problems with mine so far (knock on wood), but I'm worried that if I upgrade my graphics card to more a high end one, that I'll fry my whole system or something.

Let me know what you think.

More about : psu power 6950

November 30, 2011 6:38:01 PM

To run the 6950 AMD recommends at least a 500 watt powersupply (for all components not just video card!)

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Rosewill-Perform...

That is a review that looks at your specific power supply, and you are right, it is a little disconcerting, they almost explicity state it can't run at its peak rated power. However, I doubt this is an issue and unless you are doing some serious overclocking, you should be fine with a 6950.

In the future though, don't skimp on a power supply, skimp on a motherboard, a processor, supported RAM, anything but a powersupply!
Score
November 30, 2011 6:41:30 PM

Welve said:
To run the 6950 AMD recommends at least a 500 watt powersupply (for all components not just video card!)

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Rosewill-Perform...

That is a review that looks at your specific power supply, and you are right, it is a little disconcerting, they almost explicity state it can't run at its peak rated power. However, I doubt this is an issue and unless you are doing some serious overclocking, you should be fine with a 6950.