Direct x 11 ompliant video cards

woebegong

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2011
I am looking for a pretty cheap price wise, direct x 11 comliant video card with at least 2 gb's on board.
Any suggestionsd out there?

woebegong

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2011
It says it must be AMD Phenom Black edition or higher 2gb direct x 11 video card. I admit I am a rookie when it comes to knowledge about the new video boards out there. I am hoping I can work with this new CG program I have, so thought I would give it a go and see what cards were out there. When I started seeing prices anywhere from $400 to $1500, I thought I had better seek out some expert advice. I will not be using it for games so I am not about the speed being super fast or anything on refresh rate.

woebegong

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2011
Ok, here is exactly what the program says are minimum requirements for the program. Hardware Mimimum requirements:

Intel pentium 4 or higher , AMD opteron
2 GB ram
1 GB ram
three button mouse

Hardware recommend System:
intel core 17 or higher, AMD Phenom black edition or higher
2gb direct x 11 compliant video card

I have a AMD athlon 11 x2 235e duel core processor
6 GBs of ram
Nvidia get force 6150se integrated card which is not x11 compliant.

When I run the program, it tells me I need the direct x 11 video card.

So looks like you don't "need" a 2 gig card, that's recommended specs. You probably also want a pro level card like a Quadro or a FireGL. You have a good RAM amount for rendering (as long as you have a 64 bit system, the CPU could use a bit of an upgrade, and for a card, you'll need to spend $200+ if you want to set up the computer to run properly with any pro graphics program. You don't need a pro card to run it, but it won't be "certified" unless you do.

Here is a list of "pro" cards from newegg with DX11 compatability http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100008333%20600044860&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&ShowDeactivatedMark=False&Order=PRICE&PageSize=20