First Intel build help plz

sheepsnowadays

Honorable
Aug 22, 2012
Hey guys I'm building a rig for my friend and this is my first time going intel so have a few questions. I know the 3570K is the *** so thats the cpu i'm getting but don't know what mobo to get. He wants to spend $100 - $200 on one and it has to be able to use an AMD graphics card. I don't know anything about the chipsets either do I want a Z77? if you can't suggest some mobos I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance

Solution
You want a board that has PCI-e slots that do 16x/0x and 8x/8x. That means when one GPU is in, it will get 16 pci-e lanes and the other (empty) socket will get zero. If both sockets are full, each will get 8 pci-e lanes.

Some cheaper boards limit their 2nd slot to 4x which generally isn't enough for SLI/Crossfire.

Something like this would work. Although there are cheaper options.

sheepsnowadays

Honorable
Aug 22, 2012
Ah yes forgot to mention that I would like the possibility of corssfire and overclocking so that means I would go with a Z77 I guess? But is there anything specific I need to look for to run AMD crossfire with Intel mobo? And If you were to buy a mobo for $200 or less what one would you get/reccomend?

subasteve5800

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2010
You want a board that has PCI-e slots that do 16x/0x and 8x/8x. That means when one GPU is in, it will get 16 pci-e lanes and the other (empty) socket will get zero. If both sockets are full, each will get 8 pci-e lanes.

Some cheaper boards limit their 2nd slot to 4x which generally isn't enough for SLI/Crossfire.

Something like this would work. Although there are cheaper options.

Solution

sheepsnowadays

Honorable
Aug 22, 2012
I thought if i plugged 2 cards into 2 PCI-e x16 slots then they would both run at 16x? And if I were to use a 16x and 8x then they would both run at 8x right? What your saying is the two 16x lanes would run at 8x when corssfired?

subasteve5800

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2010