Need advice on my first-time build

josh2000

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2011
Approximate Purchase Date: asap

Budget Range: variable, see below

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Battlefield 3, general gaming, web browsing, etc

Parts Not Required: mouse and keyboard, display, speakers, os

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: amazon

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences: none

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: no

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Hi, this is my first time building a PC, and I knew virtually nothing about hardware until a few weeks ago. I've read quite a bit here on tom's, and it's been a great resource. I had planned on learning more about proper system building, but the time just got away from me and now school has started and the battlefield 3 beta is barely a week away. I need help on 'filling in the blanks' with my build.

I am pretty set on getting the i5-2500k and evga GTX 580 superclocked. I read a few articles and comparisons on motherboards, but most of it went over my head, so that's the main thing I need help with. I did not list a budget before; sorry if this is considered bad form when seeking build advice. but instead of working with a set budget I am looking for the most affordable components that will do justice to my CPU-GPU combo. this way I have the most money left over for games.

preferences/parameters:

- I plan on sticking with a single graphics card
- while initially wary of overclocking, I've read that the 2500k and 580 are very oc-friendly, so I plan on trying it out eventually. above all I want to keep things safe and simple.
- I do want to use 2 displays, but for basic multitasking, not eyefinity
- prefer 8gb of RAM
- I already have way more storage than I need so don't need a big hdd, not interested in ssd
- don't care what the case looks like, but space isn't an issue so I guess a big one will make things easier?