Sign in with
Your question

Difference between mid & full case?

Last response: in Components
December 1, 2011 6:10:58 PM

Hi all,

I bought an Antec P183 for my current build and to my surprise I wasn't able to fit 1 XFX Radeon HD 5870 in it without cutting a part of the card off. I though that a full tower meant more space. I saw some people in other threads with mid towers and running cards in crossfire and I wondered how it could be. My case is so tight that there would be no way for me to fit in another card like I have, (and it's a full tower!!)

Does full tower mean just more bays? How can I be sure that the next case I buy will fit a pair of Radeon 6970s?
a b ) Power supply
December 1, 2011 6:25:38 PM

You have to look at the internal dimensions to see if your future cards will fit in it. I have a Cooler Master 912 case that I could fit just about any GPU in it. It's a Mid-Tower design, but I can remove part of the HD section out and leave quite a bit of room for long GPU cards. Generally a Full tower case, just means that you have more room for more HD's/DVD's/etc. not necessarily more GPU room. It all depends on the manufacturer of the case if you have more room for a long GPU card.

BTW the p183 case at Newegg is listed as a Mid-tower case and looks like you can remove the middle HD tray and have plenty of room for a long GPU, but I could be wrong.
Link to Newegg's p183 case
m
l
December 1, 2011 6:29:16 PM

I'm going to re-examine the case to see if maybe I was just an idiot in my building of it hehe. Thanks for the info.
m
l
Related resources
December 1, 2011 6:29:17 PM

Full tower only means it is taller. It will at minimum hold an ATX motherboard, some HDDs, and a power supply. It has nothing to do with the depth or width of the case. Even then, full, mid, and mini tower sizes aren't standardized. ATX is standardized and Mid and Full towers can hold a ATX motherboard and sometimes larger.