Gtx 560 ti worth it for my system?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jorda95

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2011
Hey,

I recently had many problems with my almost-4-year-old computer, so I decided it was time to change some parts. I have never done this before, so I knew it was going to be a bit rough to learn alone.

I recently bought a Cooler Master HAF-X and installed all the parts myself, with no experience with computers whatsoever (to be honest, quite proud of myself).

At this moment, this is my PC:

Operating System
MS Windows XP Home 32-bit SP3

CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 2.66GHz
Conroe 65nm Technology

RAM
4.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 400MHz (5-5-5-18)

Motherboard
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5K SE (LGA775)

Graphics
SyncMaster (1440x900@59Hz)
512MB GeForce 8800 GT (nVidia)

Hard Drives
313GB Western Digital WDC WD3200AAKS-00VYA0 (SATA)

Optical Drives
PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-212D
Power Supply
Antec EarthWatts 500 Watt Power Supply

A) I just bought a CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.2 SLI, not installed yet.
B) I want to change to Windows 7.
C) My current video card is broken, I want to upgrade. My thoughts are the gtx 560 ti. Will this system be ok with the new power supply, new case, and windows 7?
D) and the rest of the components, or do I need to upgrade my CPU / MOBO? (or anything else?) to be ok with everything else?

Thanks!

Jorda95

Solution
I think what we have here is an update - spiral.

Your graphics - card is broken. So what options do you have ?

1. Buy a new one. I agree to most of what the others have said. The GTX 560 may be "oversized" for your system, because other components will stall its speed. So if you buy a new one, go for a cheap model, maybe with a GT 440 chipset, if nVidia is your favorite. It would be my choice.
By doing so you conserve money and speed up your system all the same. But I wouldn't expect wonders concerning the amount of apeed gained.