Need Help Starting 2600k Overclocking

tokadub

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2011
So I just set up my 2600k build last night. I am using this motherboard and ram:

ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131792

Gskill 1600 ddr3:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231428&cm_mmc=BF2011_listing-_-147-_-N82E16820231428&nm_mc=BF2011_listing

So this is my first time overclocking Intel, and I am using the newish UEFI Bios. I am completely unfamiliar with specific Intel overclocking settings and this Bios. However, I have a solid understanding of the basic overclocking principles like voltage, temps, stability testing, etc.

So I have a few questions:

-My old CPU did not have an unlocked multiplier so I have no experience of using multipliers rather then FSB. Since I now have a multiplier should I just use that by itself? Or do many people use combinations of MULTI and FSB even with Intel 2500k or 2600ks?

- Right now everything is on stock. What is a really low (yet reasonable) voltage level to start at so I can move slowly up from stock speeds and voltage?

-Do I need to turn off turbo boost?

-I guess basically what are all the settings you should change right off the bat if your at stock in UEFI Bios? I am prepared to make a slow trek upwards in my voltage and speed. But I need a starting point of what settings need to be adjusted to begin with.

I will be continuing to research and try to find out everything about overclocking Intel. But right now I am just beginning and hopefully I can get some good answers to accelerate this process. Thanks for all the help!

tokadub

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2011
OK, so I am definitely liking how easy it is to overclock with a multiplier. All I have really done so far is up the multiplier from 38. I started at 39, and am going up 1 every time. So right now I am working on 44 which is 4.4 GHZ turbo boost.