Is FM1 right for my first build?

sqoon

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2011
Hello,

I'm new to building my own PC, and new to PC's in general. I'm an Apple guy, but frankly I've become a bit disappointed with their desktop offerings lately, so I've decided to try my luck with building my own system.

The chart here for the AMD office recommends going for the AMD A8-3850. From what I understand, this is a few socket type for AMD. My fear is that for my first build I'm going to be pigeon holing myself into something new, and won't have the room to grow or expand later down the line. Would I be better off sticking with something like the Athlon II X4 640, and perhaps an AM3+ MOBO so that I can be ready in a year or two for a newer CPU?

Also, I'm wanting to get into a decent MOBO for under $120 that will support anywhere between 16-32GB of RAM, plenty of SATA connections, and enough USB 2.0's. The Biostar A880G+ looks good for real cheap, but I get the feeling this isn't going to give me the room to grow that I want, not even taking the whole AM3+ thing into account...

I need some help here. Please. Be gentle.

ervinelim

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2011
Yeah FM1 is for AMD LLano which in your case is the a8-3850. Actually it depends, AM3+ sockets could be better since their new line of processors are coming out this year which are rumoured to be a powerhouse.

FM1 mobos could also be used for newer Llano cpus but if we're talking about hardcore gaming, I'd stick with the AM3+ sockets.

Anyway, both have upgrade paths but it really depends on your intended use for the computer you're going to buy. If you plan on gaming, then the AM3+ sockets would be better since the Llanos are only bought for their built in GPUS which isn't really that strong in comparison to a mid- high end graphics card.