Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Replacing my CPU [Need Help]

Last response: in CPUs
December 6, 2011 4:03:04 PM

About a summer ago, I bought a pre-built PC when on sale during the school season. I know, it would have been better to just re-build my PC from the ground up. But at the time, I wasn't very knowledgeable. And even now, I'm still learning. The specs were pretty good for only $499. Was a quad core, 8gb ram, 2tb internal hardrive. Basically, I've used this pre-built computer and replaced parts as I went along. I put in a 650 watt Power Supply and upgraded my graphics card. And so far, it's been perfect. I can run Battlefield 3 at Max specs, no lag or screen tear.

But recently, I decided to move over all my parts to a new case. This case in particular:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Why? Because my old case was pretty compressed, and the graphics card barely fit in there. It was getting pretty hot, and I just figured it would be nice to upgrade to something better (I'm quite proud of my rig).

Anyways, long story short, I'm about to move all my guts over to this new tower this week. And I was thinking about getting this Blu Ray Drive to install as well:

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-12XReadable-DVD-Writable-...

But I noticed the minimum requirements say: Minimum System Requirements: CPU Pentium 4 3.2 GHz or above.

Well, my CPU is only 2.8ghz. Here is a picture of my specs:

http://i.imgur.com/HKaLc.png

I actually upgraded my graphics card to a GTX 580 1.5gb. So that picture is actually a bit outdated. Now it shows that I can max skyrim out (and I can, with no problems). But anyways, the point I'm arriving at is that I have an AMD Phenom II x4 840 2.8ghz Quad Core.