Less RAM showing than what is actually installed.

Payson

Honorable
Sep 14, 2012
Hello all,

I recently build my own PC and it has been working great. I've been running games on the highest settings without any problems, it's been amazing. I got Guild Wars 2 last week and on the loading screen it's been telling me I don't meet the minimum requirements of 2GB of RAM, however, I have two 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X Series sticks installed. This surprised me to see this message since a.) I should have 8GB installed and b.) I have been running games flawlessly for a few months now. So I went in to my system settings and lo and behold, it's only showing that I'm running on 1.91GB of RAM.

Now, I've been trying to do some research and found that, since I am running Windows XP 32 bit, my RAM will be a little less than installed and won't use more than 4GB, which I did not know before. But still, I don't understand why it is showing up as so low. Does anyone have any solution on this? Thank you!

I am sure you have done this.... Make sure both sticks are really in.
Also what slots do you have the stick in?

"DUAL CHANNEL
Q: What is Dual channel?
A: See key term: dual-channel.

Q: I currently have two sticks of 512mb pc3200 memory in DIMM 1 and 3 to reach the performance of dual channel DDR. Can I also add two sticks of 256mb PC3200 in dimm's 2 and 4 to reach 1.5GB of ram and still maintain dual channel performance?
A: As long as you have matched memory pairs on each channel, you should be able to run dual channel.

The only potential problem: Because you are using 4 memory modules, which require more power, your system may clock the speed of the modules down to maintain stability.

Q: How do I know if dual-channel is working in my system?