Access Point + Router Question

Makaveli84

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2010
Hello,
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to networking. I'm not entirely sure of all the terminology, but i will try my best to explain my problem.
My internet network consists of a small black device that receives a wireless signal and that is installed on the roof of my house. I think it is called an access point. A cable then connects this device to my PC's network card through a regular RJ-45 connector. I connect to the internet through a PPPoE broadband account, but that is not important (or at least i don't think so). Now whenever i need to change any settings on my access point, i use its pre-configured IP address which is 192.168.1.146. This address takes me to the login page of my a.p. device.
Also, i can ping my local "station" at 192.168.1.99 in order to diagnose any problems when my connection is down or slow.

So far, so good.. Now enters my new D-Link DIR-615 router. I now have my a.p. connected to my router's Internet port, and i have my desktop PC wirely connected to the router. Got my router's internet settings all tuned up and working fine, and i can normally connect to the internet.. Only now, i can't reach my a.p. settings page (the 192.168.1.146), nor can i ping my local "station" (the 192.168.1.99).
Only device i can connect to is my router, which has a default IP of 192.168.0.1

In both setups, i can ping my ISP at 2.2.2.12.

This is a bit problematic for me, since i often have to ping both my local station and my ISP, in order to diagnose my connection's problems.
Now, whenever i'm having connection problems, i have to disconnect the cable from my router and connect it to my PC to test/compare ping results and/or to view/change my a.p. settings.

How can i solve this? How can i access my access point's settings page and ping the "station" i'm connected to when i'm connecting through a router??

Makaveli84

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2010