Overclocking 955 on water

Status
Not open for further replies.

hayden5757

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2011
Hi guys, I have a general question about overclocking my cpu. I have read the tutorials on this site because I am fairly new to overclocking. My AMD phenom II 955 is currently clocked at 3.5 with about 44 C at full load. I have tried getting to 4 Ghz, but it always crashes. I set the voltage to 1.55 v and it STILL crashed. My question is, if my memory is 1600 speed and it is default clocked to 667, could this be the bottleneck to my cpu OC?

At 3.9 Ghz I am getting roughly 55-56 C at 100%, so I know it can run stable at a higher clock, but just HOW?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. My other specs. are listed on my profile. THANKS

Hayden5757

Solution

If you have an early C2 chip, you would be lucky to get it up near 4ghz. C2 had trouble reaching high clockspeeds and early chips moreso.

C2 also had problems working with ram above 1333mhz, so that could be why you cant run it at 1600.

A thuban might be a decent upgrade from that chip since you could get a much better overclock from the thuban.

Frizzo

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2010
what are your memory timings? you can try setting the memory to 1333 @ 9-9-9-24 , it might stabilize the overclock, though i don't remember but i don't think the 955's are a sureshot for 4ghz the way the 965's are.

hayden5757

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2011
Yeah I think you are correct on that one. Did some more research and it seems like my timings on the memory are as good as I should go for. 1333 @ 9-9-9-24. Same thing I heard about the CPU. Think I am upgrading to the 1090T in a couple weeks anyways. :) Thanks though

Well, I have heard putting your PCI bus higher can stabilize an OC, just don't do it too much. Also, try tuning your FSB a little bit for that "fine" tuning. You could probably achieve 4Ghz. Most 955s make it to 4Ghz fairly easily. Also, 9-9-9-24 RAM timings @ 1333Mhz should help. Happy overclocking!

hayden5757