Sign in with
Your question
Solved

System Build Question

Last response: in Systems
September 7, 2011 9:43:54 PM

Hello

Excuse my noobyness but i have a few questions. Its my first time building (well upgrading) a computer (and my friends helping me) but i was wondering if im on the right track with parts.
my current rig:
Intel i5 2500k @ stock speed
Gigabyte P67 (some low end one)
Sapphire HD 6950 1gb
Kingston HyperX 8gb @1600mhz
CoolerMaster V8
Raidmax Aelous
Blu-ray combo thing
1tb HDD
A random brand 660w psu

Im currently changing/adding these parts:
Asus Maximus iv extreme-z
Sapphire 6950 dirt 3 edition
Corsair HX850w
Intel 320 120gb

I also may change the ram to corsair dominator gt (looking into 8-12gb, figured 8 would be enough)
and i was concerned with the power supply, i used the cooler master psu calculator and it said something like 947w, also is the intel SSD the right way to go, i only plan on putting the OS on and some of my more important apps and games.

Your wise words would be much appreciated :) 

More about : system build question

September 7, 2011 9:52:31 PM

If you change motherboards you will see very little performance increase . Maybe 1-2 % . The P67 chipset will perform identically on a $100 motherboard and on a $250 one .
Z68 will also perform identically . I would not spend the money on this upgrade .

The power supply makes sense . A single 6950 on a sandybridge computer and the total system draw under load is going to be less than 300 watts even with a bunch of hard drives and bling running .
A 600 - 650 watt quality unit will run cool and quiet . An 850 watt unit could run TWO 6950's and still run cool . Are you ever going to run two?
m
l
Related resources
September 8, 2011 6:09:47 AM

Thanks your for replies.

My current motherboard is a gigabyte p67-ud3-b3 which is extremely inferior to the Maximus IV and im not aiming at boosting performance based on the motherboard, i was actually more keen on the features themselves.