Status
Not open for further replies.

Fallin

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2011
Hello everyone,

This is my first time in the community. I usually search through the forums to find my answer, but I need some help. I want to get a psu.

I'm building a brand new pc. I was thinking of going with either a full tower or mid tower. I will use it for gaming what kind of power supply should I get? I plan getting an Intel 2600k, I'm not sure on Motherboard quite yet I was thinking maybe getting the ASUS p8z68-v Pro gen 3. For video card it will be amd just not sure what i'm going to get and it will be only one video card for now. It will have 2 hard drives, 2 cd burners, and a card reader and I'm going to put in at least 16 gigs of ram. If you need more info let me know. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in Advanced

Solution
The Corsair. If you are looking at those other GPUs however its still overkill. Really only need this if you go with CF/SLI'd 6950 or similar cards.

Edit: Forgot to mention I picked the Corsair because its the cheapest of the PSUs up there. You won't really go wrong with any of them.
The psu you need is almost entirely determined by the graphics card you pick. That is assuming a normal complement of a few hard drives, fans, dvd's, overclocking, etc.

Here is what EVGA recommends for their graphics cards:

GTX550ti needs 400w with 24a on the 12v rails plus one 6-pin PCI-E power lead.

GTX560 needs 450w with 24a on the 12v rails plus two 6-pin PCI-E power leads.

GTX560Ti needs 500w with 30a on the 12v rails plus two 6-pin PCI-E power leads.

GTX570 needs 550w with 38a on the 12v rails plus two 6-pin PCI-E power leads.

GTX580 needs 600w with 42a on the 12v rails plus one 6-pin and one 8-pin PCI-E power lead.

GTX590 needs 700w with 50a on the 12v rails plus two 8-pin PCI-E power leads or 4 6-pin power leads.

Whatever you do, do not go cheap on the psu.
My short list of quality psu brands would include Seasonic, Antec, PC P&C, XFX, and Corsair.