Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

Motherboard Bad?

Tags:
  • Motherboards
  • CPUs
Last response: in Motherboards
September 20, 2012 9:25:00 AM

This is my first build. After setting everything up, my CPU, GPU, PS, and case fans all turn on when I start it up, but no boot and no display. The CPU doesn't even sound like it is working. I get a red light for RAM, CPU, and boot. I have checked to make sure everything is connected correctly. I have tried with 2 different sticks of RAM in multiple slots. Here is my build:

MB: ASUS P8Z77-V LGA
CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7850 2 GB
RAM: Ripjaw G-Skill 8GB
Power Supply: Corsair 650w
Case: Coolermaste HAF X
Heatsink: Thermaltake Frio
HD: Western Digital 1TB
SSD: Samsung 830 Series 128GB
DVD Drive: Asus 24xDVD-RW

I have basically narrowed this down to a power supply or motherboard issue. Is there something I am missing? Or should I try to get a new motherboard from Asus's RMA? Should I try out a new power supply first?

Thanks for any help.

More about : motherboard bad

a c 83 V Motherboard
a b à CPUs
September 20, 2012 9:36:57 AM

Are their any Diagnostic lights or Beeps when it starts up?
m
l
a c 783 V Motherboard
a c 394 à CPUs
September 20, 2012 11:01:45 AM

check the mb bios rev. on asus web page you need bios 10xx to boot the 3570 cpu. if your mb has the old 800 bios on it it wont post. if you think it has the old 800 bios on it. use the usb flashback port and flash the mb with some of the bios updates.
make sure your 24 pin and 8 pin power are connected and your not trying to use the 6+2 pci video power plug to power the mb. there should be a 8 pin or two 4+4 cable for the atx power plug. if your using an aftermaket heat sink check that you did not over tighten it. the last thing to check is thermal paste shorting the cpu out or bent pins.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
September 20, 2012 11:44:51 AM