Upgrading GPU

Donut 1o1

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2011
Hello everyone and I hope you can help me out.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Not Sure (see below)

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: World of Warcraft, The Orange Box, HD video, and maybe some more intensive games 2012 or later.

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: Nvidia 9800GTX+, Corsair TX750 Watt

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition 3.1 GHz, GSkill 8GB DDR2

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: America

PARTS PREFERENCES: I would prefer to stay Nvidia

OVERCLOCKING: Yes IF MINOR

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe (see below)

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080 maybe 2560 x 1600 (see below)

Alright, I have been using the 9800gtx+ for the past 2 years and it's been great, however the card is starting to show it's age and I'm not able to max settings anymore. Now I could just upgrade to a new card and be fine for another year or so but I was wondering, Should I spend 150-200$ now on a low-mid range card (my budget limit), wait a few months and buy a (EX. gtx 580/570) when the price drops, OR wait about 5-8 months, hold out with my old card, and spend $300-350 on a new/powerful card that I could use for a while and then reuse/SLI in another system I plan to build in about a year or two.

P.S. I cannot SLI with my current setup but the new one I plan to build will support SLI.

You might not see any improvement picking up a card in the $150-200 range.