Help Building My Own Computer

Driagan

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2011
Hello, I am planning on building my own desktop computer, however this is something I've never done before. I have read quite a bit online about it, and designed a build that I think will work, however I am not sure. I have a few questions:

Will all of these components fit together properly?

Should I get a 60GB SSD and install the OS to that, with a larger HDD for everything else, or will that not give significant improvements?

How will this computer work for gaming? Should I go for a better graphics card?

Are there any components you would recommend changing?

Here are all of the components in the computer:
ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM
COOLER MASTER HAF 912 RC-912-KKN1 Black SECC/ ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
ASUS PCE-N13 PCI Express 150/300Mbps Transfer/Receive Rate Wireless Adapter
HIS H467QR1GH Radeon HD 4670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
■2x CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model CMX8GX3M2A1333C9
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX
COOLER MASTER R4-S2S-124K-GP 120mm Case Fan
Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM
Kingwin ATS-W24 Anti-Static Wrist Strap w/ Grounding Wire
TOTAL: $683.61

(I have a 500 watt power supply and a sound card that I'm planning on salvaging from my last computer for the one I'm building, that's why there is no power supply listed)

Thank you for all the help!

Solution

If you're going with an X6, do not pair it with an ATI 4670, it's a very old, slow, and outdated DX9 card. You could get one to use as a replacement in case your primary fails, but a card as old as the 4670 should not...