Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help Building My Own Computer

Last response: in Systems
September 11, 2011 9:31:20 PM

Hello, I am planning on building my own desktop computer, however this is something I've never done before. I have read quite a bit online about it, and designed a build that I think will work, however I am not sure. I have a few questions:

Will all of these components fit together properly?

Should I get a 60GB SSD and install the OS to that, with a larger HDD for everything else, or will that not give significant improvements?

How will this computer work for gaming? Should I go for a better graphics card?

Are there any components you would recommend changing?

Here are all of the components in the computer:
  • ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM
  • COOLER MASTER HAF 912 RC-912-KKN1 Black SECC/ ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
  • Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
  • ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
  • ASUS PCE-N13 PCI Express 150/300Mbps Transfer/Receive Rate Wireless Adapter
  • HIS H467QR1GH Radeon HD 4670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
  • 2x CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model CMX8GX3M2A1333C9
  • AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX
  • COOLER MASTER R4-S2S-124K-GP 120mm Case Fan
  • Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM
  • Kingwin ATS-W24 Anti-Static Wrist Strap w/ Grounding Wire
    TOTAL: $683.61

(I have a 500 watt power supply and a sound card that I'm planning on salvaging from my last computer for the one I'm building, that's why there is no power supply listed)

Thank you for all the help!
  • More about : building computer

Best solution

a c 93 B Homebuilt system
    September 12, 2011 2:00:59 AM

Driagan said: