Sign in with
Your question

New build... default DRAM Frequency

Last response: in Memory
September 22, 2012 12:05:34 PM

Hey guys, sorry to be such a nub but I really need some help. I got a new system yesterday and got everything put together, its using the default BIOS settings and I have just about got everything up to date, all my windows updates, drivers, SSD, BIOS etc... so everything is all installed and up to date.

The problem is I was looking at some of my settings and noticed my memory seems completely different from its specifications. I have no real knowledge of setting it up properly, with previous memory I have just got the numbers and checked them in my bios. Lucky for me the only thing I have ever had to change is the recommended voltage. But this time everything is different and I think my memory doesn't seem to have auto detected its settings very well. But I could just be a retard.

CPU-Z

Type: DDR3
Size: 16384 MBytes
Channels: Dual

Timings

DRAM Frequency 665.2 MHz
FSB:D RAM 1:5
CAS# Latency (CL) 10.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# Delay 10 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 10 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) 27 clocks

Command Rate (CR) 2T

This is the memory I purchased https://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=M...

Also, I wanted to run the ASUS TurboV EVO software to autotune my system for me... I tried it already to see how it works to build up some confidence without breaking anything.

So the question, is my memory set up wrong? Should I reset my BIOS and change the settings to match? If so which settings should I use... the description lists three... Should I set these settings and then run TurboV EVO?

I'm so confused...

Thanks for your time.
September 22, 2012 2:05:35 PM