Advice on building small office file sharing server

lerxst

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2011
Hello everyone,

I just want to say thank you in advance for you any and all help you can give me on this one.

My brother is currently running a small p2p file sharing network of five PC's with one of those machines functioning simply as a common file server. Now this server is running Win XP Pro and powered by a very old Pentium D CPU. It has performed well up to this point but the latest employee mutiny (lol) has left him no choice but to upgrade to a machine with modern day specs.

Now, I've had plenty of experience building home rigs ranging from $350 Linux boxes to $2000 gaming monsters. When it comes to anything office server oriented however, I've always stayed away due to security and liability reasons (so much more involved when it comes to both hw and sw). In fact I've always recommended spending the money and hiring professionals for this sort of thing. However, this appears to be a case of simply replacing and old desktop PC with a new one.

Here's my question basically (sorry for the rather large lead-in): Do I even need to consider upgrading to a XEON CPU or can I resort to using a decent consumer level option? My gut feeling and 3 hours of online research suggests that I should just go with the consumer option (preferably an i5-2500k or 1090T).

Here is a listing of the other specs:

Win 7 Pro
16GB of DDR3-1333 (ram is basically free nowadays)
2 x 1TB WD Black HD's in RAID 1
Optical
Seasonic M12II 620W power supply ($6 more than the 520W - no brainer)
Mobo contingent upon CPU choice (most likely ASUS or GIGABYTE branded)

Again any help is certainly appreciated!

Solution