Sign in with
Your question

Problem with gigabyte GTX 560 Ti OC after gaming

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 12, 2011 10:19:25 AM

so i got a friend to built a new computer and recently i started playing starcraft II:

CPU = Intel Core i5 2500 Sandy Bridge
MOTHERBOARD = Gigabyte GA-H67MA-D2H-B3 Motherboard B3
RAM = G.Skill Ripjaws X F3-10666CL9D-8GBXL 8GB 1333MHz
GPU = Gigabyte Geforce GTX 560 Ti OC
HDD = Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
POWER SUPPLY = Silverstone Strider Plus 600W watt
win7 x64 home premium

i played for about 3 hours, changed the graphics setting back and forth and alt-tabbed a fair bit, went with the extreme option as it ran smoothly. the driver crashed once during the time but recovered within 2 seconds, and the gpu temperature was around 50-60 when playing
before i turned off the computer for the night i experienced display problems such as programs in task bar not showing their logo and not previewing when the cursor hovers over, the next day i tried booting up the computer and could not load after the starting screen of windows, the one with the black background and a windows logo, it never got to show me the "welcome
"" part, screen just went black and after about 5 mins i got a blue screen saying either enter system in safemode or remove new hardware.
i thought maybe the driver had problems so i removed the card and uninstalled drivers while the vga is plugged in the motherboard, reinstalled drivers, didnt work, repeated process with "clean uninstallation" software, still same result.
t
also on the 2nd attempt when i had the card in and was about to install drivers the colours were all messed up, he windows logo was white and pale-yellow kinda and some icons on the task bar and desktop gadgets were black.

how do i fix the problem? i dont think the hardware could have fried since it didnt overheat alot and theres no visible burns or anything, do i hv to send back for warranty?
July 12, 2011 10:38:53 AM

Did you play the game with DX11?