Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Upgrading a 2009 Gateway PC on a super tight budget (<150$)

Last response: in Components
December 15, 2011 10:34:52 AM

Question: Will my ideas to upgrade my computer work, or is there a better way to upgrade my machine and still keep on budget?

Hey there,

To start, this is my first time on the forum, and this is also the first time I have ever researched about computer hardware and specs, so unsurprisingly I have never before assembled a PC before, nor upgraded one, nor overclocked, etc.

I own a 2009 Gateway model DX4200-09 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...) and as of recently it has been unable to satisfy my gaming performance needs. I mainly have played older RTS games, such as WC3, and for a while WoW, and have had no problems whatsoever running these games.

The system runs an integrated GPU, HD Radeon 3200, and it is impressively capable for any game made prior to 2006 or so, but it just cannot cut it with modern games. EG Starcraft 2 plays around 20 FPS, and Id like to try Skyrim, but ive tested the game and it plays around 8 FPS.... So sad :( 

So, I have intentions of upgrading the machine, but I am limited to a very slim budget. <150$ most preferably

Here were my plans:

-- Upgrade the PCU from an extremely limited 300 watt unit to a 500 watt unit (ive seen go for ~22 bucks after rebate)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

-- Swap the MB from the P.O.S. stock Gateway board (which has absolutely no special features: No overclocking abilities) to a AM2+ motherboard which supports overclocking (apparently, unless you can tell me otherwise), which costs ~43 bucks
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

my processor runs 65 watts standard, and this board will take CPU wattage up to 95, so I think this implies I can do some overclocking to my rather weak CPU.

-- Overclock the existing processor, a AMD Phenom X4 9150e from 1.8GHz to 2.4GHz