Sign in with
Your question

PC reboots randomly

Last response: in Systems
September 14, 2011 5:21:58 PM

Firstly, I've never used a forum before so sorry for any random misuse, like if I don't reply because I can't work out how or something.

So, my PC is a home build & 3 and a half years old. We built it to the specs necassary for video editing but on a small budget. I've never had a problem with it... until about 5 months ago.

I made only my second modification to the system after 2 years of making the best of the PC. I installed a 3rd Hard drive. (The first modification had been to install a third hard drive but it died about 6 months later). I also installed 2 new sticks of RAM, taking it to 4GB and ultimately Windows XP Home Editions limit.

The PC began to randomly reboot and random intervals. It never gave any error messages. I still don't think it realises it's doing it. Sometimes it lasts seconds. Sometimes it will stay on for an hour or more. We installed a new PSU, incase it couldn't handle the 3rd HDD. That didn't make a difference. Then I figured I've probably bought the wrong RAM, took the 2 new sticks out, and it was fixed.

Now, 4 months on, the same problem has come back. It randomly just bombs out and restarts with no error messages. I figured if it was RAM last time, it's probably RAM this time. So I took the old ones out and tried the new ones (the ones that I'd bought, put in & took out) and tried them seperately. One didn't work at all, so I figured that was the dud. The other one worked, so I left it to do a 24 hour soak test, and it worked. Then when I start actually using it for something, it conks out. I've tried each of the 4 sticks seperately, in different RAM slots. Always the same results. Whether it takes 4 hours or a few minutes, the PC randomly reboots.

Sometimes you don't hear the computer do anything, like nothings happened, but the screen goes blank.