First Build. Please critique!

AnEagerStudent

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2011
So I've been doing some research for about 4 months or so and I think I've finally found the build that I want. I'm aiming for a mid-upper gaming rig. I want as much criticism as you can give me. I'm trading in my 360 and PS3 and going solely PC. Any help in my build would be much appreciated

Games I Plan On Playing: Star Wars: The Old Republic, Skyrim, Battlefield 3. With this system what kind of FPS am I going to get?

Case: Cooler Master Haf X Blue Edition

CPU: Intel i5 2500k

GPU: HIS 6950 Iceq turbo

Mobo: Asus P67 Sabertooth with assist fan

RAM: Corsair Dominator 8 gb 1600

PSU: Seasonic 80+ gold 850w modular

Aftermarket Cooler: Corsair H60 push/pull config

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb 7200

Drive: Asus blue ray drive

Monitor: 3 asus 23" 1920x1080 lcd led backlit for eyefinity setup ( I also have the active adapter for the third monitor)

Peripherals: Razer Naga, Razer Nostromo, Razer Lycosa, Razer Carcharias ( I like razer)

Here's a few questions I have:

I do plan on overclocking but not until later on down the road, is there any good guides out there for beginners on it?

On the H60, should I use the preapplied thermal paste or buy some arctic silver 5?

Im going to use the NZXT sentry 2 for a fan controller cause I'm going to max out on my fan compacity in my case. Where's the best place for probes that doesn't destroy good cable managment?

I don't plan on burning blu-rays or dvd's so I shouldn't need a blu ray burner, but when I'm installing games do I need a burner or just will the reader do?

Thanks for the replies in advance!

pabzOr

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2011
Well first off I would say smart move trading in those consoles! They're a waste haha. I haven't touched my PS3 for anything other then watching blu ray's since I purchased it.