Overclock AMD FX 4100 and StarCraft gets laggy...

stryk3r1215

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2011
First off, my specs:
Asus M5A97 EVO
AMD FX 4100 Unlocked
EVGA GTX 460 1GB OC to 800/1600/1900.
Corsair 4GB 1600mhz (though its incompatible with the mobo so it runs it at 667mhz (wtf)).
500GB HD.

Hey guys. I'm a bit of a newbie so bare with me. I went into the BIOS and upped to multiplier to 20, for 4.00GHz from 3.6GHz stock. Once I did I rebooted and everything was normal. I loaded up StarCraft II and I noticed it was laggy and jittery. Before the OC, Fraps would indicate fps range from 40-60. But when I OC'ed it, it was getting very laggy/jittery to about 20FPS. Sometimes it would go back up but only momentarily. I decided to go back to BIOS and reset to default settings and it works normally. I want to be able to OC the CPU to at least 4.4 or 4.6 on the stock cooler...but not if it impairs the gaming! I was hoping to improve a bit if possible, I don't know if it bottlenecks the gtx460. I can't tell you much about the temperatures because I don't know HOW to check them while running the game. What can I do/check guys?? Thanks!

stryk3r1215

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2011
Stock cooler. I've read people get it to 4.6ghz on stock cooler...so I imagined a bump to 4.0 couldn't be that bad. I'm thinking of buying an extra cooler for the case, or just replace the stock cooler?

get coretemp, and replay back.

there's more to over clocking than setting a multiplier in the BIOS. With everything set to stock......... get your butt into the BIOS and make your ram run where it's supposed to. I looked up Starcraft. your system stock should run it okay. FIX YOUR RAM SPEED...................... put it the right slots make sure it runs in ganged mode.

stryk3r1215

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2011