Done a lot of research for a new build, I could use some input!

XFiraga001

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2011
Building a new computer and It's my first time so I could really use some input from the community.

Expected Use: Moderate gaming, Starcraft2, Diablo2, some shooters, some HD movies and I'll be getting use out of the blueray player.

Budget: $900-$1000

Monitor: 1980x1200 AOC Widescreen 22in (Single DVI input)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Scout
PSU: SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
M/B: ASRock 890GX PRO3 AM3+
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 970 3.5GHz
RAM: Kingston 4(2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333
GPU: HIS IceQ X Turbo H685QNT1GD Radeon HD 6850 1GB
HHD: Seagate 1TB 6gb/s 7200rpm
Disk: Asus Blueray R DVD RW combo

This comes out to about $900 priced on newegg.com

I've got a kb, mouse, and speakers to reuse, but those will be replaced as soon as my wallet recovers :sweat:

Experience Level: This is my first time picking out pieces and ive been doing crazy amounts of research in the last months. I helped a friend put his rig together but I'm not too worried about that part.

Does anyone have a similar set up? Are the pieces good together. I'm saving up for it so I'll be buying in about a month. Looks like bulldozer is coming out in a few days so ill take a look at the new quad core, but most likely ill just take the discount on my current build.

Thanks in advance!

ThruSeer

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2011
Maybe this sounds crazy, because I am a noob similar to yourself as described, but why would you go w/ an AMD CPU instead of an Intel Sandy Bridge i5-2500k? It seems like a no brainer to me that you should go w/ i5 considering prices and performance. It is true that I have not explored or researched AMD CPU's, but to me it seemed granted that anybody would choose Intel over AMD.

Cool though that you are able to explore the Bulldozer that is coming up. Cool that it is in only a few days, I had imagined a couple months before they release that information.