Rendering/Video Editing Station -- First Build

cyrus001

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2011
Hello All,

I'm a film student looking to build my first PC for running Cinema 4d, 3ds, Maya, Vray, and the Adobe Production Suite. I rarely game, but I'd still like to invest in a decent video card just in case. My budget is around $1200-$1700 (pretty lenient).

I began researching parts with little knowledge about the guts of a PC, so the parts I ended up selecting are mostly from 'Guru of 3D' recommendations.

My current build is as follows:

Processor
Intel Core i7-2600K: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115070

Fan
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103065&Tpk=Cooler%20Master%20Hyper%20212%20plus

Motherboard
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131730

Please lend me your wisdom on motherboards. It looks like the easiest part to screw up.

Storage
OCZ Agility 3 SATA III SSD (120GB): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227726
&
Seagate Barracuda 1TB: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148697&cm_sp=Cat_Hard_Drives-_-Best_Sellers-_-22-148-697

Memory
G.SKILL Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231417

Graphics Card
EVGA SuperClocked 012-P3-1572-AR GeForce GTX 570: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130595
Not confident about this one either. Adobe certifies cards for GPU acceleration, so I just snagged one from the list here: http://www.adobe.com/products/premiere/tech-specs.html

Chassis
Corsair Carbide Series 400R: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139008

Power Supply
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.2:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006&Tpk=Corsair%20CMPSU-750TX