New Builder with Specific Needs, Overdue Upgrade

size_t

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2011
Hello! Another newcomer here.

And right off the bat, I'm afraid I've got a lot of questions--some already answered, but there are always more.

To start things off, this will be the first computer I've picked out, let alone assembled. I've only used entry-level, hand-me-down types. I've made a few "upgrades," but nothing considerable. That said, I have been doing a considerable amount of research; going through dozens of other users' threads has also helped.

Additionally, I'd like to mention that I've been using my computer for eight, going on nine years. It boasts a clunky CRT, no support for SATA, integrated graphics (no AGP, even), and less than 200 GB of space. It works, but not well enough for what I try to do.

I'm not sure how feasible it is, but I would like to continue using this new computer for quite some time, even if some of its initial uses diminish over time (e.g., gaming requires lower settings).

Please forgive me if I'm overly specific in places. I thought it might help narrow things down. Anyway, I'm sure there's enough to read, so I'll just continue.

Approximate Purchase Date: This week (sooner the better)
Budget Range: $1000-1200 after rebate ($1500 maximum, but I'd prefer to avoid getting close.)
System Usage from Most to Least Important: Programming, 3D modeling/rendering, virtualization, gaming, image editing, encoding (mostly audio, some video in the future), web browsing, watching movies, office
Parts Not Required: CPU (see below), motherboard (see below), mouse, keyboard, and speakers
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com, Micro Center (only if there's a great deal), amazon.com, tigerdirect.com [Anyone have any trouble with parts through Amazon?]
Country of Origin: United States
Parts Preferences: Intel, NVIDIA (see below), 21.5-23" LCD/LED (loose), mid tower case
Overclocking: Maybe (Down the line, and as allowed by air cooling.)