Need advice for buying a new laptop: i5 or i7

rajatgupta59

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2011
I'm a college student and am going to buy a new laptop and I was looking at these: j.mp/dellxps15in . My primary reason to buy is because in my previous laptop I couldn't play games. So I want this one to be a good gaming laptop. I'll be playing fifa, nfs on it, also assassin's creed, maybe skyrim and maybe crysis too. but other than that my major is computer science so I'll be doing programming, running virtual machines on it etc. I'll be watching movies as well. (Too bad they don't offer a fhd screen in india.) And all that's day-to-day stuff for me. No video editing but I do use photoshop sometimes. I was looking at second and last ones in that link. i7 seems to be a bit expensive but is it worth spending money looking at my usage? Also it's 2.2ghz while i5 is 2.5 and has more ram too. so please, give some advice...

Uh i don't know how much 60k rupees is in dollars. But if you want to game you might want to look at asus g series. The g74sx i believe is within your budget.

if your thinking you want gaming then dont waste your time buying a lappy. you will never get your moneys worth. if you dont need mobility but want to play games than desktop all the way... there cheaper and you get a lot more for your money...
for instance a 1200 pound alienware will get you similar performance to a 500 pound selfbuild and probably wont match it in the gfx department...

oh it has a 555m nvidia gfx card in it... thats almot 560 terittory isnt it.... NO! your looking at very similar performance to an old 88gt ie minimum recomended spec for bf3... now if you spend the same money on a desktop ie 1200 you will get a pc better than in my sig. and max out games like bf3

so no m8 if i want to play games and i dont need to be mobile. i would get a desktop. even if i have a teeny room, i would get a desktop... there just better value all round.

melead

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2011