Autodesk Inventor/MATLAB/ANSYS/ Desktop Build

steve o 77

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2011
Hello, this is my first post here and Im really learning a lot just looking around for the past few days. I'm a college engineering student and I recently got a hold of an OLD desktop from my parents. I downloaded Inventor onto it (the 32bit XP SP3 version) and it is beyond slow. It is definitely not going to work out and with most of the components being from 2001 (including the mobo) I have decided to throw some money at getting a new computer.

My intended use is mostly modeling in Inventor, sometimes of somewhat large assemblies (around 1.5g file size). Also some light MATLAB and eventually working in ANSYS. I would like a system that will be able to run smoothly under these conditions if that is at all possible.

Budget - $1000

I do not need a keyboard, monitor or mouse.

Here is what Im thinking so far, any insight would be awesome.

Motherboard: one of these -

ASUS P8P67 PRO (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

*or*

ASRock P67 PRO3 (B3) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Not sure if I need the features of the more expensive one or if either is even my best option.

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52500K

Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL

PSU: XFX Core Edition PRO550W (P1-550S-XXB9) 550W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Video Card: ATI 100-505552 FirePro V3750 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 Workstation Video Card