Sign in with
Your question

AMD A8-3850 APU Video Issues

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 18, 2011 1:28:12 PM

Good morning everyone.

I just built a new HTPC using the A8-3850 APU. Just by specs alone I should have no problem decoding 1080p MKV's as long as I have the right codecs and players installed.

My machine has Windows 7 64 and I'm using the K-Lite codec pack. Whenever I stream the MKV's from my NAS to XBMC or VLC, I notice a little stutter throughout the entire length of the video. Does XBMC and VLC use external codecs or are they built into the application? I don't have troubles on my other PC with either of these programs streaming this type of video.

I'm new to these chips so I'm wondering if I need to make some system changes to get the best performance possible out of the GPU? I have the latest graphics driver from AMD.

Anyone have experience with this chips yet or have any ideas?

Thanks!
a b U Graphics card
July 18, 2011 2:10:41 PM

7. and hardware acceleration is turned on......
m
l
July 18, 2011 2:18:19 PM

Yes I do have the latest AMD drivers and did apply the latest hotfix. I believe it's b.
m
l
Related resources
August 13, 2011 10:43:47 PM

XBMC has built in codecs, and by default, I believe Hardware Accelleration is turned off. This means the GPU is not used, and since XBMC is single threaded, only one core is used as well.

To solve this, go to settings - Video - Playback, and check that "Allow hardware accelleration - DXVA2" is enabled.

Please let me know how it went, as I am concidering buying the same APU for XBMC use :) 
m
l
August 16, 2011 9:58:38 AM