So I need to upgrade my memory.

emeriacn508

Honorable
Oct 1, 2012
Im currently running an hp8530 with 5 gigs of memory installed.
I wish to uprade my memory to possibly 6 or 7 gigs. It has ddr2 memory running at 400mhz.
I wanna buy a 2 gig ram stick but it runs at 800mhz. would that not be compatible with my computer?
im fairly new to pc and pc gaming and wanted to get some advice.
Any responses would be appreciated,
Thanks.

JKatwyopc

Distinguished
Why do you want to upgrade your memory? Are you having problems with running out of memory? Are you running programs that use a lot of memory? What are you running? For gaming, 4G is usually enough although currently most people prefer 8G.

What kind of memory sticks do you have now? it sounds like you have a 1G stick and a 4G stick installed. That's the most likely configuration that results in 5G. I would suggest you find out the model number of the 4G stick and then get another one of those so that you will have a total of 8G.

emeriacn508

Honorable
Oct 1, 2012

im on cpu-z and it says there are 4 slots, 3 of them have 1 gigs and 1 slot has 2 gig. And im starting to run games and friends of mine recommended getting an extra gig or two of ram to make it run smoother, sorry im fairly new to Pc and pc gaming

emeriacn508

Honorable
Oct 1, 2012
heres the specs

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883107710.

I have already upgraded the graphics card to a ati radeon hd4350

JKatwyopc

Distinguished
Getting more memory is probably not what you need. That configuration (3 1G sticks plus 1 2G) is not ideal but it's not bad either, esp. since it's working fine.

If you really want to improve gaming performance, you're gong to need to upgrade the graphics card with something a little more powerful. The Radeon HD 4350 is an entry level card and not really suitable for any serious gaming unless all you play is stuff like Angry Birds. What kinds of games do you want to be able to play?