Why my computer freezes without error messages

pizarrocruz2

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2011
Hello,
I just put together a computer with the following specs:
dual opteron 2356 socket F 1207
MSI k9ND speedster V1.1(bios v 2.2)
12 Gigs Memory(8=2x4 sticks)(4=1x4sticks)
XFX 9800GT card
500Gig HDD
750W PSU
Win 7 uLTIMATE 64 BIT

i have swapped memory and video card(radeon 1600). Haven't tested HDD or memory.
The computer seems to run fine then locks up!!!!
Have to hard boot with power switch,No warning, no error messages, no entries in event viewer other than the hard boot. It locks up from installing prog, to downloading from utorrent.

pizarrocruz2

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2011
Seagate 500Gig 7200 rpm HDD.
I'm really hoping it's not the MOBO.
It recognizes all 8 cores, all 12g of memory, DVD drive and HDD.
I look in device manager and no "!" signs, all 8 cores are present. Which I think means the MOBO is working.

I have noticed in BIOS the TEMP on CPU-0 is high bt since this is my first build I'm not sure. I'm not at home to check it now but I'll get there tomorrow and post the TEMPS.

I plan on testing MEM, HDD and re-installing CPU-0 with arctic thermal compound since it came installed when I got it I installed CPU-1 miself using arctic and TEMP is way lower.

any thoughts?

BaronMatrix

Splendid
Dec 14, 2005

Admittedly it sounds like a BIOS problem.

pizarrocruz2

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2011
i thought so too but looking at MSI website the BIOS is 2.20 and thats what i got.
one weird things is on website its dated 7/26 but in my bios is dated 6/26.
almosta month difference. even though is same version.

should I reflash it? never done that before kind of scary messing with BIOS.
any tips/website to learn?

thanks for your posts to all.

dairaioh

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2012