Gamer (Enthusiast?) $2,000 USD Build.

scuba356

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2011
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=24670548

Edit : Will have 16 gb of ram on my build.
Edit 2 : I have purchased twin GTx 560 ti's. So that's cemented in :]

Approximate Purchase Date
: I plan to have everything in 3 weeks. Piece by Piece
Budget Range: N/A
System Usage from Most to Least Important: Everything. Games, Blu Ray (HDMI to my HDTV @ 1080p), Photoshop, 3DS, CAD, Messenger, ETC.
Parts Not Required: Getting 2 moniters and new keyboard later
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg. I live in North Carolina so Tiger Direct makes me pay Sales Tax ;_;. Any site is good with me though.
Country of Origin: North Carolina, USA
Parts Preferences: Good Brands. ASUS, Seagate, ETC.
Overclocking: Yes (I'm a novice)
SLI or Crossfire: Yes (Twin GTX 560 TI)
Monitor Resolution: Not a clue. I kinda like not having widescreen, but I'll probably be forced to get it.
Additional Comments: Scuba's build :]

Here's the build I came up with. Any thoughts? I'm not sure on the fan controller, and I was thinking about getting a Corsair CWCH50-1 Hydro H50 CPU Liquid Cooler, but I'm really gun shy about liquid cooling.

This will be a SLI build (Twin GTX 560 ti)

To compliment the 900 GB (Which i plan on setting to RAID 0, possibly 10), I have a USB 3.0 2TB External, and 1.25 TB on USB 2.0. I plan on sinking my most played games onto the HDD, and setting up a 100 GB Partition for my basic programs (3DS, Messenger, Spyware, ETC)

The reason I'm getting this computer is because I enjoy gaming, and really want to play on high settings. I know that the 2500k would be better in this case, but I chose the 2600k since I plan to enter college soon, and plan on becoming a mechanical engineer (I can only assume I'll be using something like ACAD or 3DS) and I enjoy playing on Photoshop :p