Sign in with
Your question

Need for a sound card / headphone amp?

Last response: in Components
December 20, 2011 11:09:50 PM

Hello!

I have a question.

I currently have an Asus P7P55D-E PRO motherboard with no additional sound card.

I am considering getting either a Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset or a Corsair 1300, but I wanted to know, How much better would the USB headset be compared to the analog headset with NO sound card? What about the UBS vs an analog with a dedicated sound card?

Also, do most sound cards include a headphone amp? What does a headphone amp give you in terms of sound?

One more thing, Would you recommend even getting a sound card for normal use of any device? How much better sound do you get VS the on-board audio?

I am kind of an audio newbie (though I am NOT a computer newbie), so I don't know much about sound cards.

One last thing, If a sound card would be advisable, is there one you recommend that is under $100?

Thank you very much!

-- Yogman
December 21, 2011 12:44:20 AM

1: I consider all USB headsets to be worse then using onboard, because they will all use very cheap digital to analog converters to handle the audio conversion. There are VERY few exceptions to this rule.

2: Most soundcards do not have a built in amp. The only thing an amp gives you is the ability to use high impedance headphones, which some would argue gives a slightly higher audio quality as a result.

3: As far as quality, treat a soundcard like a high-end GPU: With a high end GPU, you can crank up anti-aliasing to improve picture quality. While not needed at all, some swear that turning up AA to 4x is a significant improvement, and worth a hundred extra dollars on a more powerful GPU. Thats pretty much what a soundcard does for sound: A better signal quality, better handling of dynamic ranges, and the like. That being said, the speakers at the other end also play a role...