Help building a ~$2000 gaming PC for BF3

Gutterkisser

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2011
Hi guys, looking to build a gaming PC from scratch for approx $2,000, with the single goal of running Battlefield 3 on the best settings I can. Apologies in advance for any ignorant statements, I've never built a PC before (or even had a half-decent one) so I'm fairly new to the finer details. I've got a rough parts list going - mainly need GPU advice - but I'll follow the template:

Approximate Purchase Date: Before the end of October (BF3 launch). Awaiting the Beta's launch to read some feedback on what runs it well.

Budget Range: $2,000 (give or take a couple of hundred if it's justified). Worth noting I'm in Australia but there's fairly good price parity at the moment.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Pure gaming, specifically Battlefield 3. Web browsing etc will factor in a little.

Parts Not Required: Mouse, speakers.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: http://www.pccasegear.com/ (not the cheapest AU store, but comprehensive and more trustworthy).

Country of Origin: Australia (assuming you mean me).

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU, Gigabyte mobo.

Overclocking: Maybe. Not immediately, I'm too new to all this, but I'd like to have the option down the track.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe. I'm open to it - whatever GPU setup ultimately gets the best performance in BF3 within my budget.

Monitor Resolution: 24" monitor, so I assume 1920x1080?

Additional Comments: Want it to be as future-proof as possible, as I don't plan on regular upgrades. Don't care about aesthetics of the build at all. Prefer not to worry about cooling systems at this point.

So far, my rough build list is as follows:

CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K (is there any point considering the i7 2600K for my needs?)

MOBO: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Motherboard (had a Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 in my Shopping Cart but the product has disappeared, no idea what the difference actually is?)