Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Cpu

Last response: in CPUs
December 22, 2011 2:52:48 PM

I have an older I7-920 on an asus 5290 motherboard. When I run CPUZ, the cpu is rated for 2.67mhz, but is running at 1.75.
How do I get it up to it's rated speed?
Also, though not a heavy gamer, I would like to upgrade. What would you suggest as a decent upgrade in cpu and motherboard?
I am a photographer so I do quite a bit photo editing.
tia
revphelps

More about : cpu

December 22, 2011 9:15:10 PM

sosofm, Thanks for the quick input as to upgrading. An important area I failed to mention was video card. I currently have the older Nvidia GTX 260. Again, what's a decent upgrade, again not for gaming, but rather photo editing?
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
December 22, 2011 9:24:54 PM

try running superpi or similar and looking in cpuz--you will probably find its downclocking when its not under load

you need to look at cpuz when the cpu is busy

the i7-920 is still a very good cpu even by todays standards and if the photo editing software you use can handle multithreading then the 8 cores will help

i think photoshop cs5 and some others can make use of hyperthreading
December 23, 2011 12:21:47 PM

Thanks for the help about the cpu speed.
a c 184 à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
December 23, 2011 3:48:48 PM

You can overclock also! Do you have gpu acceleration enabled in photoshop?
a c 117 à CPUs
a c 112 V Motherboard
December 24, 2011 2:34:17 AM

No need to upgrade the cheapest option is to add more ram and perhaps an ssd.
January 3, 2012 11:26:36 AM

Thanks to those who responded to my questions. Your help saved me from spending some money needlessly.
Ron

Best solution

a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
January 3, 2012 12:19:30 PM

revphelps said:
I have an older I7-920 on an asus 5290 motherboard. When I run CPUZ, the cpu is rated for 2.67mhz, but is running at 1.75.
How do I get it up to it's rated speed?