Looking for a case that will fit an ASUS P8Z77-V

block_head

Honorable
Oct 7, 2012
Hi,

I am an extreme newbie and this is my first attempt at building a custom computer. I have my eye on an ASUS P8Z77-V LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard and need a case to fit this and that will give me plenty of room to expand as newer technology comes online.

I am assuming for the money, that this is the best motherboard I can get and that will be upgradeable for the next couple of years. If not, can someone suggest another one in the same price range, and along with it a compatible case?

many thanks

Solution

I have the same M/b with a Gigabyte GTX 670. I also use the...

larkspur

Distinguished

Yeah, it's a great motherboard. Pair it with an Ivy/Sandy Bridge cpu in your price range, 8gb ram and you won't need to upgrade it for years. A computer case is really up to your preference since they vary a lot. Like noidea said, that motherboard is ATX. So you need an ATX case. Most people use a tower or mid-tower. Larger cases are usually easier to work inside.

block_head

Honorable
Oct 7, 2012
Hi,, thanks for the replies.

Do I need to consider the number of expansion slots, USB connections, SSD/disk drive slots (it would be nice to not have to buy brackets for fitting 2.5" to a 3.5" FF), fans, cabling, enough depth for oversized exp. cards (esp video) . Could someone point me to a case that has the room for all of the above. I am planning on buying the max memory of 32mb for this build and installing the Ivy bridge 3770k --a 3.5mhz. Will I need a liquid cooling system for the CPU (not overclocking the CPU or memory). How many fans or cooling devices will I need? And what about the power supply? Will a 600watt do the trick?

many thanks!

Many thanks

TomH426

Honorable
Jul 19, 2012

I have the same M/b with a Gigabyte GTX 670. I also use the CM Hyper 212 EVO.