vaporfox99

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2011
Hey guys, this is my first time playing with HDMI on a PC and I've reached a question without an answer (at least on Google). I just got my new mobo (ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX ATX AMD Motherboard) it's pretty great. Now I'm running three monitors, have for awhile, but I'm considering upgrading my Graphics Cards to HDMI, which I understand is video and sound combined into one cable. But, I really don't wanna negate my $500 7.1 custom computer surround sound unit. If I run all my monitors using HDMI I'm pretty sure I will lose sound, but is there some way to bypass this without running DVI, or am I stuck using crappy monitor speakers or buying new monitors that support DVI? Thanks guys.

vaporfox99

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2011
Question, why do u want to use HDMI cable all the sudden>?
stick with DVI, it makes no difference and no u dont have to go through all those trouble in device manager, u just have to choose output from ur audio manager,

I'm not suddenly going to HDMI, I have three perfectly good monitors with VGA/HDMI hookups. I've run this tower on them VGA for the past 4 years, many more before I acquired all 3, and just decided to go to HDMI as a High Definition upgrade for my monitor. (Mainly because a "uber nerd" associate of mine said "DVI to VGA is basically VGA.") So, I was curious to opt up to a HD video, which the price difference between the HDMI cards, and DVI cards is minuscule so I just figured I'd ask before ordering a 300euro card just to wind up gettin' the old "Wally-chalk-alaka" treatment on it. And thanks for the help peoples.

vaporfox99

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2011
are u buying a new graphics card or something?
Yes, I was looking for new ones.

new graphics cards usually come with 2 DVI and 1 HDMI and 2 display port as standard on mid end AMD GPUs