Sign in with
Your question

Slow parents computer

Last response: in Systems
September 22, 2011 2:17:15 AM

My parents desktop suddenly became really slow over the summer, freezes a lot, and the keyboard stops working once in a while(that might just be the keyboard). I was certain it was a virus because it was acting the same as before (when it had a virus) and they had not bothered to update the virus protection. After re-installing Windows 7, nothing changed. Is it worth just buying a new desktop? I'm a complete beginner at computer repair. Any opinion is helpful other than "get a Mac."

Specs: Core 2 duo 2.53GHz
3 GB ram
Windows 7 64 bit
250 GB hard drive
Purchased in 2007

More about : slow parents computer

September 23, 2011 2:19:07 AM

This topic has been moved from the section Opinions and Experiences to section Systems by Buwish
m
l
September 23, 2011 2:24:02 AM

Your system is still plenty powerful for everyday tasks such as surfing and media playback. Maybe you have alot of junk loading at startup. Do you know how to use msconfig to disable startup items? It might be beneficial to see what junk is being loaded and disable all that stuff.
m
l
Related resources
September 23, 2011 2:35:38 AM

As well as following Abekl's advice, they need, medically, urgently absolutely NEED 4gb of ram on a 64bit O/s
Moto
m
l
September 23, 2011 2:44:15 AM

^ Concur
Also:
(1) download, install and run CCLeaner (on the left side select the Registry).
(2) upgrade the ram to 4 gigs. I'm guessing but you probably have a 1 gig stick and a 2 gig stick and are running your DDR2 in single channel mode, not dual channel. This is not as diff as it seems. Down load Cpuid cpu-z. install and run it. At the top there are two tabs one labled Memory (Tells what the memory is running at) and SPD which tells you the memory part number and other settings that the memory will run at. (Note: left top there is a pull down menu to select which memory slot is being shown)