First Build $500-700 Gaming Computer

Rekees

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2011
I've never built a computer before. I have changed out individual components in my current desktop (graphics card, harddrive, power supply) so I'm not a complete novice in that respect. I've done a lot research this summer and have a build I'm considering but I don't know that much about current components. I appreciate any adive and suggestions you have for me.

Approximate Purchase Date: next 1-3 months

Budget Range: $500-700, I have at most $550 to spend in the next month and will have more in couple months. Originally I was going to save another year up to $800-1000 budget but a dying current computer forced some acceleration in this plan. If I can't build a good computer to meet my needs now I'll delay and keep saving.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: schoolwork, gaming, internet

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I'm only familar with newegg but anywhere cheap and dependable is fine with me

Country of Origin: US

Parts Preferences: AMD cpu for price/value

Overclocking: Maybe, I've never overclocked before. I'm concerned about overclocking reducing the lifespan of the computer. If this isn't a concern then I would consider overclocking.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe, in the future.

Monitor Resolution: I currently possess a 17" 1280x1024 (dvi-capable, but has vga cable) and 15" 1024x768 (vga-only). I'm planning to run a dual monitor setup eventually. I may upgrade to a new monitor in a couple years, if so it would be at least 1920x1080.